Kitchen Window

I made this window shade thing today.  I have a hangover and these pictures didn’t come out worth a crap.  So, you know, my apologies.

I’ve been agonizing over what to do with this window for the past month or two.  I originally wanted a light-tone bamboo roll-up shade.  But this window is a weird size, 38″W x 41″H, so of course I couldn’t find one that would work.  I realized I would have to make something myself if I didn’t want to spend hundreds on something custom.  I bought this black and white toile fabric a few weeks back, with no actual plan of what I was going to do with it.

I originally had some scheme to make a roman shade, sans-sewing.  But it would have been awfully complicated, and I didn’t feel like engineering a working roman blind mechanism.  My brain doesn’t like working like that on the weekend.

But this week I happened upon these kitchen window treatments, which would be a much, much easier way to make something out of this fabric I already hastily purchased.  She actually sewed hers, but I used good old Heat ‘n Bond, like I did on the dining room curtains.  So I hemmed up a rectangle to match the window dimensions with a rod pocket on the top side and threw it up on a cheapie tension rod that we already had laying around.  Then I made little accordion folds up to the top and tied pieces of ribbon around the whole deal to keep it in place.

I’m not 100% sold on this thing yet, for the following reasons:

1. It’s a little cutesy-poo for my taste.  I think if you’re going to use toile, it should be in a classy way, and not a frilly, girly way.  On the other hand, I can’t forget that this house itself is a little cutesy-poo, and it wouldn’t be appropriate to make the inside too modern.

2. The folds look too heavy, like I shouldn’t have made the panel the full length of the window.  The ones she did in the Making it Lovely kitchen look so much softer with a lighter weight fabric.  Plus she only needed two pieces of ribbon on each.  Mine looked like a saggy mess with only two, so I had to add a third in the middle for support.

3. Since it’s constantly silhouetted during the daytime, the hemmed edges are really obvious, and you can tell they’re not sewn and they’re not all even.  Maybe it just needs a white canvas backing?  Can I Heat ‘n Bond that shit too?

So this shade might not be the forever solution I was looking for, but it’ll do for a little while until I cook up something better.

God, these pictures suck.  How about a little sepia tone?  Hell yeah, that’s homespun.  Give me a drink in a mason jar.

6 thoughts on “Kitchen Window

  1. I like it. And I actually like that you can see the hems, because it adds an extra frame to the window.

    And I think all drinks should be from mason jars, makes everything better.

  2. If you’re going to add more fabric, I would add more of the same, if you have some left. Like create a second layer on the back side instead of using canvas… that way it will hide the hems, block a little more sun when needed, and look nice from the outside. I like the three ribbons… also I like the cutesy look… it’s not too cutesy… it is the perfect amount to go with your cute house.

  3. Pingback: To-do List, August 2010 « escape from brooklyn

  4. Pingback: Kitchen Complete « escape from brooklyn

  5. Pingback: Living Room Windows « escape from brooklyn

  6. Pingback: Roman Shade Style Window Valance « escape from brooklyn

Leave a Reply

