Red Walls No More

The past 7 days have been my first foray into the world of interior painting.  It amounted to 12 solid hours of hard labor, 2 coats of primer, and 2 coats of paint.  But the red is (almost) gone forever and the room feels twice the size it did before.

The color we went with was “Inverness” from Glidden.  In all reality it’s an off white, but it’s in the green family, so it’s got a cool glow to it.  Kind of reminds me of a light celery color.  I was hoping that you’d really get the glow effect up against the pure white baseboards and trim.  Until the harsh reality I came up against yesterday…the trim is totally dingy and not pure white at all.  So this whole painting project has been expanded to include another round of blue taping, ladder balancing, and scrubbing paint drips off of the wood floor.  There’s a lot of this going on around the edges too:

The girl who lived here before me did kind of a crappy job at her red edges, so there are a bunch of those little slivers where the red still peeks out.  And if we’re really going to go all out with doing up this whole room right, the ceiling could use a fresh coat too.  It might look nice to do the ceiling with the same shade as the walls, or a different light color entirely.  This pic shows the difference pretty well:

We’re getting there.  Slowly but surely.  The color is a HUGE improvement for me.  I have a new respect, though, for people who go in and makeover a whole room in a weekend.  I also now know why my mom wouldn’t let me paint a black and white checkerboard pattern on my bedroom walls when I was 13.  It’s a bitch to cover up dark paint.

Over the last few years, my dad has become a pro at painting at home (and at removing all the wallpaper he spent the 80’s hanging up).  And lucky for me they’re headed down here for a visit next weekend.  So I might get some much-needed assistance and advice from the “paint whisperer” as he’s been dubbed by my mother.

3 thoughts on “Red Walls No More

  1. Much improved!

    I went in a similar route in our living room…natural fiber rug (sissal from Ikea) and celery sprig green paint (Behr) . It made my rental livable.

  2. Pingback: Dining Room…so damn close. « escape from brooklyn

  3. Pingback: Check One Off The List: Dining Room « escape from brooklyn

Leave a Reply

