Wintery Wreath

I’m not very good at holiday spirit.  I mean I like Christmas as much as the next guy, but I’m just not all giddy about it anymore.  It’s awesome to see family and eat great food and drink by the fire.  But the whole month-and-a-half-long retail festivities make me angry.  I can only tolerate Christmas music on Christmas Eve and Christmas day, and even then I sometimes get onto my dad for putting the same CD on repeat for five hours at a time.

Since we’re in the process of tearing up the living room this month, we’ve (I’ve) decided not to get a tree for our house this year.  We’re going to PA for the actual holiday anyway, so it’s not a total scrooge move.

I also don’t feel like fooling with a bunch of lights on the outside of the house.  I did it for the past two years at our rental house, but it was easier there.  There were two neat little posts to wrap lights around out front, and the poorly-sealed door would easily close with a cord in the side.  Neither of those scenarios are available here, and we have no outdoor electrical outlets.  And I’m lazy.

So after rationalizing not actually decorating for Christmas, I decided to make this wreath.  It’s a symbol of me caring (just a little bit) about the holiday season.

So the idea started out with these two plants growing in our yard.  There’s been a rosemary bush thriving in the back garden since we moved in.  And a shrub out by the end of the driveway all of a sudden grew these beautiful firm, red berries.

P.S. I have no idea what kind of plant this is.

I thought that the rosemary would smell nice (you know, kind of like a fresh Christmas tree) and maybe the berries would look pretty.

I got this grapevine wreath from Hobby Lobby for $3.  [Seriously, why are things so cheap there?]  And since I’m spray paint-happy these days, I decided it had to be white.  So a few coats on each side later, it’s white.  And it actually stands out nicely against the red door.  After the paint dried, I just started shoving rosemary sprigs between the grapevine pieces.  I wedged most of them in there, but reinforced some with floral wire.

And I finished it off with a few of those crazy red berries from out front and wrapped some raffia around the ugly parts.

The cat went ape shit for this raffia, as if it were a bail of hay sent from the heavens for an indoor cat.  We caught her carrying strands of it across the house, I think she might be making a nest somewhere upstairs.

I decided to wrap that raffia instead of tying it into a stupid, unwieldy bow.  And I think that was wise.  It’s a little bit messy, but I like it that way.  It goes with the inherent messiness of a grapevine wreath.

Last weekend I bought a wreath hanger that hooks around the top of the door.  I guess normal doors are thinner than ours?  It cracked immediately when I tried to put it on.  Luckily, at this point I also realized that there was already a small hook screwed into the front of the door, just below the diagonal windows.

I don’t know if it’s weird to have a wreath hanging in the dead-center of a door.  Is it?  I say not weird enough to go drilling holes into a 65 year old door for the sake of a shoddy wreath.  So there it hangs, proudly, in the dead-center of our front door.

Next year, perhaps more glitz.  But for now, that’ll do.

Maybe the wreath will even last until next year.  I’m guessing that the rosemary branches will probably start to shed their delicious leaves before long.  And who knows what’ll happen to the berries.  But I think there’s a remote possibility that this thing could hold up in storage until next year.  And even if all the accouterments fall off, I’ll still have a white, $3 grapevine wreath to mix things up in the future.

5 thoughts on “Wintery Wreath

  1. Looks good and appropriate for the style of the door. There must have been something hanging from that nail at some point, so, having the wreath there is fine.
    You may have to remove the rosemary and berries before storage so it is not appealing to any little critters.

  2. Looks good to me. Those windows would have blocked you from hanging it higher up anyway. And minimal Christmas touches are probably classier than a full Christmas-light-wonderland. Save the reindeer and nativity scenes for next year.

    The white looks like snow! Has it snowed there yet?

    Happy Kwanzaa!

  3. I like it… it’s simple and it works.
    my mom makes these gaudy wreaths made out of tiny wrapped “presents” that she stacks and glues to a cardboard round. She has made no less than one dozen during my life, for various friends and family members, which means she is constantly collecting hotel soap boxes and other random boxes to wrap. she also collects wrapping paper scraps from the TRASH. she is one step away from hoarder. I need to get a picture so you can see the insanity.

  4. Pingback: Holiday Decor « escape from brooklyn

  5. Pingback: Fabric Pom Pom Flowers « escape from brooklyn

Leave a Reply

