Some New Things

I’ve been trying to keep the budget down this month and focus my efforts on the endless backyard cleanup efforts.  I’m itching to buy some expensive things to finally finish off the living room, but the bank account says “be patient”.

So here are a few small things that I’ve picked up in the past week.

This bowl is from my sister’s new Etsy store.  She uses a collage/decoupage technique with found paper from magazines.  It’s the same style as the stool she gave me last fall.  The awesome thing is that this was originally a freebie plastic bowl with an Orville Redenbacher logo on the side.  She used neutral paper patterns to cover the outside and give it a new life.  The inside is untouched, so it’s completely food safe (just not dishwasher safe).  Check out her Etsy store for more eclectic applications of this collage style.

The blue vase in this pic is new.  It was only $7 on clearance at Target and I love it. Really, it’s just another doodad for me to re-arrange over and over again in the living room.  But I’m okay with that.

I took the day off on Friday and went to a bunch of thrift stores.  It was mostly fruitless, but I did pick up this little silver teardrop-shaped tray.  I thought it would clean up a little nicer than it did.  But it was only $1.50, so I think it’s good enough to hold some mixed nuts or something.  This pic also shows off Danny’s new hobby, single malt scotch.

We haven’t had an actual vacation since March 2008.  For realz.  And I get like 4 weeks of paid vacation time every year from work.  So we’ve decided to take a road trip this summer.  Not sure exactly where yet, somewhere west-ish.  We’ll take our favorite travel approach, fly by the seats of our pants, and make very few advance reservations.  Even though these Let’s Go travel books are meant for college kids, we still like them a lot.  They’ve done us very well in Ireland and Germany, and I liked the approach enough to get one for the USA.

And the best new thing, the garden is finally starting to produce!  These are the first two green beans.  Within a week I think we’ll be snacking on cherry tomatoes, zucchini, and okra.  I can’t wait for tomato season.  It’s my favorite time of year.

2 thoughts on “Some New Things

  1. Thanks for featuring my bowl! It’s definitely a step-up from the Orville Redenbacher’s logo. Your home is really coming together! Looks great!

  2. Pingback: Iron Plant Hanger « escape from brooklyn

Leave a Reply

