Bedding Options

I’ve spent plenty of time gushing about my magenta Merimekko sheets.  But I’m getting a little tired of the plain white duvet cover I have paired with them.

Of course there is still a lot to do in this room, but I think adding a main bedspread or duvet with a pattern would add more visual interest here.

I got all excited last week because Target had this grey and white duvet cover on sale for only $25, which VERY closely resembles one at West Elm that goes for $70.  Of course I immediately went over and bought it because “what a deal!”  Right?

Pretty much identical, right?

Yeah, only in the pictures.  I was blinded by the $25 price tag, and forgot to look at what the Target duvet was actually made out of.  And sure enough, once I got it out and on the bed it felt…funny.

Checked out the package and it was 100% polyester.

So that would be why it was only $25.  Also why it feels weird and silky like one of those costumes they sell in plastic bags at the Halloween store.

Now, I have to admit, it didn’t look half bad.  If it were made out of cotton, I probably would have kept it and lived with it for quite a while.  But ultimately, I’m not sure if it’s quite the right pattern for this room anyway.

So I neatly folded it back into the tight little package it came in and returned it.  And now I have $25 (plus tax) back on my credit card to spend on a (much more expensive) duvet cover that I really love.

I’m envisioning something with a black and white geometric pattern.  Here are a few I’ve found so far:

What do we think, folks?

5 thoughts on “Bedding Options

  1. The Zig Zag would do nicely! But why don’t you look at curtain material and make a bedspread? This would widen your range of opportunity to the perfect look, and it is an easy feature to change when you loose interest.

  2. Pingback: HGTV Green Home in Serenbe, GA « escape from brooklyn

Leave a Reply

